7 Nov 2016

12 Nigerian Presidents That Have Changed Prices of Petrol

The Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) has increased the price of petrol at its retail outlets by N4 from N141 to N145 per litre as at November 4, 2016.
The action has sparked up debates and increase the tempo on Nigerians that the federal government may likely increase the price of fuel which it has promised to not increased.

Successive governments have one time or the other increased the price of fuel in the country save the late former president, Alhaji Umar Ya'Adua who reduced the unit cost of fuel during his administration.

Here are successive governments who have changed the pump price of fuel in the country:

1. General Yakubu Gowon: Former head of state Gowon from1966 to 1975 took power after one military coup d’état and was overthrown in another. He increased the price of fuel from 6 kobo to 8.45 kobo.

2. General Murtala Ramat Muhammed: General Muhammed was the military ruler of Nigeria from 1975 until his assassination in 1976. He increased the price of fuel from 8.45 kobo to 9 kobo.

3. General Olusegun Obasanjo: During his first stint as the president of Nigeria, from February 1976 to October 1, 1979, he increased the price of fuel from 9 kobo to 15.3 kobo in 1978.

4. Shehu Shagari: Shagari served as the second president of Nigeria’s second republic, after taking over power from General Olusegun Obasanjo’s military government. He increased fuel price from 15.3 kobo to 20 kobo on April 20, 1982

5. Ibrahim Badamosi Babaginda (IBB): IBB, former Military president, changed the fuel price for four times dering his tenure. On March 31, 1986, he increased it from 20 kobo to 39.5 kobo. On April 10, 1988, he changed it from 39.5 kobo to 42 kobo, on January 1 1989, he moved it once again to 60 kobo and by March 6, 1991, fuel sold for 70 kobo.

6. Ernest Shonekan: Ernest Adegunle Oladeinde Shonekan is a British-trained Nigerian lawyer, industrialist, politician and traditional chieftain. He was appointed as an interim president of Nigeria by General Ibrahim Babangida on August 26, 1993. He ruled for only 82 days and 73 days into his rule, he increased fuel price from 70 kobo to 5 Naira.

7. Sani Abacha: Sani Abacha was a Nigerian army general and politician who served as the de facto president of Nigeria from 1993 to 1998. During his rule he redued the price of fuel on November 22, 1993, from 5 Naira to N3. 25k and, on October 2, 1994, he increased it to N15 and then later reduced it to N11.

8. Abdulsalami Abubakar: Abubakar was the military president of Nigeria from June 9, 1998, till May 29, 1999. On December 20, 1998, he increased the fuel price from N11 to N25, and on January 6, 1999, he reduced the price to N20.

9. Olusegun Obasanjo: During his second tenure as a civilian president, fuel price first increased on June 1, 2000, from N20 to N30 and on June 8, 2000, it dropped to N22 and it increased on January 1, 2002, to N26 and in June, 2003, it moved to N42 and up and up it went. May 29, 2004: N42 to N50; August 25, 2004: N50 to N65; May 27, 2007: N65 to N75.

10. Musa Yaradua: Umaru Musa Yar’Adua served as the governor of Katsina state from May 29, 1999, to May 28, 2007 before presidency. Under him the price of fuel dropped to N65.

11. Goodluck Jonathan: Bayelsa-born Goodluck Ebele Jonathan is the former President of Nigeria, having served from 2010 to 2015. On January 1, 2012, he increased the price to N141, but the ensuing labor strike forced him to reverse it on January 17, 2012 to N97. And on February, 2015 it dropped further to N87.

12. Muhammadu Buhari: Nigeria’s current President, Muhammadu Buhari increased the price of petrol from N87 to N141 on Wednesday, May 11, 2016.

Receive Instant News Update Via BBM: D3EDEFDF...Click HERE for Details.

Share your story with us:

PLACE YOUR TEXT ADVERT BELOW:>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

How I TOTALLY Got Rid Of my POT BELLY,excess Fat and Overweight In just 2weeks.. Click HERE for Details.

Warning To Men: This 3 Foods Is Killing Your Erection. Click Here To Know Them


For Instant Updates On Twitter Page @247NGNEWSUPDATE

Post a Comment

Copyright © 2015 247 Nigeria News Update
Website by Tech Guardian